hostmessenger.blogg.se

Sandra model set collection
Sandra model set collection








sandra model set collection

I would think of colors, of patterns - like, maybe I would have some sort of flowered pattern on the curtain that would go around the bedroom. More than anything, because my father was an upholsterer, I thought of fabric. I knew that I wanted a window seat, and I wanted some sort of a bed that had little curtains, like the kinds you see in fairy tales. I would go to the public library in Chicago and get out design books, and look at houses and then think about my perfect house. You know how little girls dream of their weddings? I dreamt of houses. And I did that because when you don't have a room of your own, you create a time of your own, a space of your own.Īs a child, did you have a vision of what you wanted that space to look like?

sandra model set collection

I had to have absolute quiet, and it forced me to go to bed after everyone else had gone to bed and to be a bit of a vampire as far as my schedule. And I never could understand that, filling up the silence with electronic noise. My mother's first thing she did in the morning was turn on the radio, and my brothers turned on television sets. I lived in a house when I was growing up that was filled with people and noise. And it's really the house of the imagination that you're looking for: some space that is uncensored, uninterrupted, and that inspires you to sit with yourself and have a nice, thorough conversation. To have a house means that you have a space in which you can retreat from society and create your own monastery or convent. Why houses? What is special to you about them? Our conversation has been edited and condensed for clarity.Ī House Of My Own is a collection of essays largely centered around the houses you have lived in over the course of your life. We talked about why she became obsessed with houses, what it was like to finally buy one, and - spoiler alert - what it felt like to fall out of love with it.










Sandra model set collection